How well do you want God to know you?

Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts! – Psalm 139:23

Notice the psalmist’s desire to be deeply known by God.  This is such a personal psalm.  The psalmist opens up his heart and thoughts to God.  Of course, the psalmist is likely aware that God doesn’t need to search to know.  The all-knowing God knows all men’s hearts and has even ordained all their thoughts.  But the psalmist uses this poetic language to say, “You have full access to me.  Reveal to me where I am in error.  Lead me in the way everlasting.”

God already knows all of your thoughts, and He knows your heart.  But do you desire that?  Do you want Him to search you and know you and reveal to you where you need to change and grow?  Let us join the psalmist in his prayer. 

Search us, O God, and know our hearts!  Try us, and know our thoughts!

Leave a Reply

