With whom I am well pleased

and behold, a voice from heaven said, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased.” – Matthew 3:17

The whole Trinity was explicitly involved in this event in human history.  The Son went to get baptized.  The Holy Spirit descended on Him.  And the Father said from heaven, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased.”  

The Father was perfectly satisfied with Jesus, as He had never been with any human since the fall.  Even the most blessed of men—Moses, Abraham, David, Noah, etc.—could not on their own please God, because they were sinners.  But this Jesus standing in the water was and is perfect.  He was and is pleasing.  This also pointed back to the prophecy of Isaiah:

Behold my servant, whom I uphold, my chosen, in whom my soul delights; I have put my Spirit upon him; he will bring forth justice to the nations. – Isaiah 42:1

Jesus is that Servant, whom the Father would uphold, His Christ, in whom He delights, the one upon whom He put His Spirit, and the one who will bring forth justice to the nations.  That is Jesus.  And the Father makes that clear here at the baptism, as He affirms His anointing on Jesus. 

What makes this verse in Matthew even more wonderful is that the one in whom the Father was well pleased came to die for sinners like us, to the end that we too could be His beloved children, in whom He is well pleased.  Because Christ’s righteousness is on we who believe, we too can say that the Father is pleased with us.  What grace!  What blessing!

Father, thank You for sending Your Son with whom You are well pleased to save us and make us right with You. 

Leave a Reply

