Christian, how do you feel about the glory of Christ?

  
Today’s Bible readings
Sheep, how do you feel when Christ is glorified?  Does it bring you great joy?  Let’s take a look at an account in Genesis to help us understand this better.  

Abraham desired to find a good wife for his son Isaac.  Being advanced in years, he sent out his most trusted servant for the task.  Once the servant arrived at Nahor, the city in which he would find Rebekah, we read,

And he said, “O LORD, God of my master Abraham, please grant me success today and show steadfast love to my master Abraham. – Genesis 24:12

Notice here his request for success.  But it wasn’t, “so that my master would not be displeased with me”, or “that I may be promoted when I return”, but rather, show steadfast love to my master Abraham.  What would please the servant is if the LORD provided for Abraham a wife for Isaac, showing steadfast love to Abraham. 

Later, once Rebekah was revealed to him, we read,

and said, “Blessed be the LORD, the God of my master Abraham, who has not forsaken his steadfast love and his faithfulness toward my master. As for me, the LORD has led me in the way to the house of my master’s kinsmen.” – Genesis 24:27

Again, he delighted in the fact that God had shown steadfast love and faithfulness toward his master.  This servant had such a love and devotion for Abraham, that his joy was derived from his master’s blessedness. 

Do we, as servants of Christ Jesus, desire above all things that His glory would be made known all over the world and abundantly?  When we pray and when we ask for things, how central is Christ in that prayer?  For example, when we pray for a promotion, is it so that Christ’s glory would be magnified in the workplace?  Or when we pray for help to defeat a besetting sin, is it for the sake of being made more like Jesus?  And when something happens that is a brilliant manifestation of the excellencies of Christ, do we rejoice?

May God help us to be like Abraham’s servant, Master-centered and happy in Him. 

Leave a Reply

