For the sake of Your steadfast love

  
In Psalm 6, we see a song of repentance.  In verses 1 and 2, we read,

1 O LORD, rebuke me not in your anger, nor discipline me in your wrath. 

2 Be gracious to me, O LORD, for I am languishing; heal me, O LORD, for my bones are troubled. – Psalm 6:1-2

Now, what is the basis of this request?  Will the psalmist appeal to the good things he has done?  Will he say, “Okay, I know I made some mistakes in this area, but consider these other areas in which I’ve been faithful!”?  No, here’s what he says, 

Turn, O LORD, deliver my life; save me for the sake of your steadfast love. – Psalm 6:4

His appeal is not to his own goodness, but rather to God’s love.  He asks that God would deliver him, that God’s steadfast love would be magnified.  He is directing all glory, all goodness, all mercy, all love to God. 

The same is true for all who believe in Jesus.  Jesus will not save anyone because they were good enough.  In the final analysis, no one’s works will be able to cover their own sin.  For anyone to be delivered from death, they need to be covered by what Jesus did on the cross.  We will be delivered not by our goodness, but by His, and for the sake of His steadfast love. 

Leave a Reply

