Philip and the Ethiopian Eunuch – The Eunuch’s Joy

Acts 8:39 says, “and the eunuch saw him [Philip] no more“, neither at that time, or perhaps ever again in this life. 

Verse 39 continues to say that the eunuch “went on his way rejoicing.”  He continued to Ethiopia, and he rejoiced.  His mind was enlightened on a perplexing passage of Scripture.  His soul was set free.  He acknowledged the Messiah, and he was satisfied.  He was then baptized.  And he experienced what all those who embrace the Savior and are baptized into Him feel: joy.  He was joyful that he had been reconciled to God!

In studying this text, I paused to ask myself, “Do I share in this joy with the eunuch?  Do I go on my way rejoicing?  I too have had my eyes unveiled to the truth of the gospel.  My soul has been set free.  I have a Savior.  I am one with Him.  I was once an enemy, and now I have been adopted into His family and I am seated at His table.  Do I rejoice like the Ethiopian eunuch?”  I’ll confess that I often forget this joy.  I am often caught up with the things of this world that I’m prone to wander, and I go to complaining and other sins.  It is crucial for us to remember Christ in all things.  It is both for His glory and for our joy. 

This is the last that we hear of this man.  Some have supposed that he carried the gospel to Ethiopia and preached it there.  But there is strong evidence that the gospel was not widely spread in Ethiopia until 330 A.D.

There is a lot to be learned from this narrative: that God prepares the minds of His people to receive the truth; that this often happens with the great and noble, as well as the poor and obscure; that we should study the Scriptures as Philip had studied Isaiah and was able to exposit it for the eunuch; that we should be ready at all times to share the gospel with unbelievers; that we should not be intimidated by the great, the rich, or of strangers, as it is God who does the work of regeneration, not us; and that we should do our Christian duty promptly, not delaying, not hesitating, but to do at once what we know to be the will of God.  Psalm 119:60 says, “I hasten and do not delay to keep your commandments.

Leave a Reply

