Just Visiting

You see, it’s so easy to cling on to this life.  But we, as children of God, citizens of heaven, are not supposed to do that.  At the end of Hebrews, as is common in the epistles, the writer ends with a series of exhortations for his audience.  Chapter 13 is one of those chapters in which I highlighted so many of the verses that it would’ve been more efficient to draw a box around it.  One particular verse, however, stands out all the more.  Verse 14 says, “here we have no lasting city, but we seek the city that is to come.

That is outstanding.  It is an important reminder to all believers that our citizenship is not here on earth, but in heaven with the Lord.  This is something that is easy to forget.  Sometimes, we get so caught up in the here and now that we don’t realize this world is temporary and should be considered and lived in accordingly.

It’s interesting that sometimes, when a Christian has a near-death experience, he says something along the lines of, “I’m lucky to be alive!”  And it causes him to appreciate his life more.  This seems appropriate, and there are certainly right ways and right reasons to feel blessed for being alive, but the view is skewed.  It is almost as if the Christian is thanking God from sparing him the wonders of heaven.

On the contrary, we should long to be home.  The Lord has shown me this, and by no means have I perfected it.  But I often get weird looks when I say something along the lines of, “I’m ready to die.”  That sounds depressing, doesn’t it?  “I’m ready to die.”  And when I say that, I mean it.  I acknowledge that all the time I have left here on earth is ordained by God, and I understand that, while I’m here, I ought to live my life to His glory, but if the Lord were to take me before this blog is posted, not only would I accept it, but I would welcome it and rejoice in it–not because I’m some psychotic masochist, but because He is increasing my desire to be at home with Him, resting in His eternal joy and basking in His unmatched glory, forever and ever.  Oh, how I long for the day!

Today’s reading: Hebrews 13

One thought on “Just Visiting

  1. A wonderful post. It’s so true. How often we get swept up in temporal things– many of which won’t last the next five years let alone a lifetime (assuming God doesn’t call us home sooner). I’m just as guilty of it. I’ve checked my Facebook five times today but I haven’t done my bible study for the day yet; I haven’t said any prayers for friends yet. It is a wonderful gift, this free will. I just wish I wasn’t always so irresponsible with it.

    Well written.

Leave a Reply

